About the Games

About Guernsey

Facts about Guernsey

  • Guernsey is the second largest of the Channel Islands and is situated in the Bay of St Malo, 27 miles from the Normandy Coast and 70 miles from the South Coast of the UK.
  • The Bailiwick of Guernsey is made up of seven Islands: Guernsey, Alderney, Sark, Herm, Jethou, Brecqhou and Lihou.
  • The total area of Guernsey is 24.5 sq miles or 63.5km2.
  • The total population is 62,109.
  • Guernsey is a dependency of the British Crown. The Queen is the Head of State. The Lieutenant Governor is her official representative. The current Lieutenant Governor is Lieutenant General Richard Cripwell CB, CBE.
  • The Island has its own Government - the States of Guernsey which comprises of 40 deputies (38 local deputies 2 from Alderney).
  • The Bailiff is the Head of Judiciary and Guernsey’s leading citizen & civic representative and the Presiding Officer of the States of Deliberation. 
  • Guernsey is not part of the EU or UK.
  • The currency used in Guernsey is sterling, although the Island does produce its own notes and coins.
  • The Islands follow the same time as the UK - UTC (Greenwich Mean Time).
  • Vehicles drive on the left hand side of the road. The maximum speed limit is 35mph.
  • The maximum income tax rate is 20%, with zero rate capital gains and inheritance tax. There is no VAT in Guernsey.
  • English is the main language spoken throughout the Bailiwick, although a number of the street names and house names are still in French. Patois or Guernésiais (based on old Norman French) is still spoken by a few members of the older population.
  • In the past, Guernsey has thrived on a number of industries, including farming and exports (Guernsey tomatoes, freesias and the famous Guernsey Cow) as well as tourism. Nowadays, the Island has a thriving international finance industry which is on par with the best financial centres around the world.

For further details please visit visitguernsey.com


Our Sponsors

Technology Partner